Nutmeg Summer Series to Offer Two Musicals

The Connecticut Repertory Theatre’s (CRT) 2019 Nutmeg Summer Series at Storrs has pared down their schedule of musicals for this summer. Artistic Director Terrence Mann said, “We’re making a few changes this summer. Our audiences repeatedly tell us, ‘it’s just too hard to have time to see everything you offer in the summer’ or ‘we wish that the shows would run longer.’”

In order to allow for the longer performance runs, CRT is offering two shows this summer, each running for an additional week longer than they have in the past. An additional change is the 7pm curtain on weeknight performances.

The third season under the artistic leadership of three-time Tony Award nominee Mann will include, “Mamma Mia” and “Cabaret.” “Mamma Mia” will run from June 6 – 22. “We’re really trying to make our audience feel heard. The last two years, when I spoke with patrons at the theatre, and when we polled audiences, Mamma Mia! was overwhelmingly the most requested show,” said Mann.

“Cabaret” will hold performances from July 4 – 21. Subscription packages are on sale beginning March 1 for the season. Single tickets will go on sale April 1, 2019, and are available at or call (860) 486-2113.

Both musicals are performed in the Harriet S. Jorgensen Theatre on the campus of the University of Connecticut. ASL Interpreted Performances are available for the 2nd Saturday Matinee of each show. Patrons can call the Box Office to book these seats.

An Interview With Dolly Curtis

By Brad Durrell, Reprinted from The Connecticut Post, Sunday, February 24, 2019

Dolly Curtis still remembers when actress Carol Channing sang her a song.

Curtis and the late Leo Meyer were co-hosting their weekly radio show “Backstage Buzz” on WPKN and talking to Channing by phone in California.

“She asked if she could sing ‘Hello, Dolly!’ to me, and then she did it on the air,” says Curtis, a longtime arts enthusiast from Easton.

Channing, who died in January at age 97, is one of many theater luminaries Curtis and Meyer interviewed on the show. Meyer knew Channing from his years as a prominent theater set designer.

Curtis is well known in the region’s arts community for her involvement and passion. In addition to the radio show, she hosted the cable-TV show “Dolly Curtis Interviews” for 28 years, has offered weekend entertainment suggestions on WICC-AM, and organizes Easton Public Library art exhibits to promote the work of emerging and established artists.

She’s also active with the Easton Arts Council and Connecticut Critics Circle, a statewide group for theater reviewers. Read more…