CT Critics Give “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” and “42nd Street” Top Honors at 31st Awards Ceremony

HARTFORD — A powerful production of “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?” at the Yale Repertory Theatre and an exuberant production of “42nd Street” at Goodspeed Musicals took top honors at the 31st annual Connecticut Critics Circle Awards (ctcritics.org) held on Monday, June 26.

The event, which celebrates the work from the state’s professional theaters during the 2022 – 2023 season, was held at TheaterWorks Hartford in downtown Hartford.

This year the awards were spread out to many productions throughout the state, though Goodspeed Musicals’ “42nd Street” earned the most taking five for best musical, outstanding choreography, best featured actor, costumes and projections. Playhouse on Park’s riveting production of “Indecent” took three honors for best ensemble, director and lighting.

Awards for outstanding actor and actress in a musical went to Aaron Lazar for TheaterWorks Hartford’s “Fun Home” and Juliette Redden in Goodspeed Musicals’ “Anne of Green Gables.”

Awards for outstanding actor and actress in a play went to Jamil A.C. Mangan for Playhouse on Park’s “Fences” and René Augesen in Yale Repertory Theatre’s “Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?”

Top directing awards went to Kelly O’Donnell for Playhouse on Park’s “Indecent” and Daniel C. Levine for A Contemporary Theatre’s “The Secret Garden.”

Animal trainer William Berloni, who began his career training Sandy the dog for Goodspeed Musicals’ original production of “Annie,” was honored with the Tom Killen Award for lifetime service to the theater.

Mark Lamos, the outgoing Artistic Director of the Westport Country Playhouse, was presented with a special award for his long and distinguished artistic career in the state.

Outstanding ensemble award went to the cast of West Hartford’s Playhouse on Park’s “Indecent:” Noa Graham, Dan Krackhardt, Helen Laser, Michelle Lemon, Ben McLaughlin, Kirsten Peacock, Bart Shatto, Alexander Sovronsky, Jack Theiling, Sydney Weiser, and Dan Zimberg.

Randy Skinner won for his choreography for Goodspeed Musicals’ “42nd Street.”

The outstanding featured actress award in a musical went to Laura Woyasz in A Contemporary Theatre’s production of “The Secret Garden.” Outstanding featured actor in a musical honors went to Blake Stadnik for Goodspeed Musicals’ “42nd Street.”

The award for outstanding featured actors in a play went to John Maddaloni for Hartford Stage’s “The Winter’s Tale” and to Alma Martinez for the Yale Repertory Theatre’s production of “Mojada: A Medea in Los Angeles.”

Design awards went to Jessica Paz and Beth Lake for sound for Hartford Stage’s “Kiss My Aztec!;” Kara Harmon for costumes for Goodspeed Musical’s “42nd Street;” Joe Beumer for lighting for Playhouse on Park’s “Indecent;” Shawn Duan for projections for Goodspeed Musical’s “42nd Street;” and Riw Rakkulchon for Hartford Stage’s production of “The Mousetrap.”

Helping to present the awards were Playwright Jacques Lamarre; Godfrey Simmons, Artistic Director of HartBeat Ensemble in Hartford; and Megan Monaghan Rivas. Artistic Director of Connecticut Repertory Theatre and Department Head of Dramatic Arts at the University of Connecticut.

Scenes from our event on June 26, 2023 at TheaterWorks Hartford in downtown Hartford.

Bookmark the permalink.