CT Critics Honor Artists of 2019-20 Theater Season

The Connecticut Critics Circle (CCC) announced it is honoring more than two dozen theater artists whose work was presented during the 2019-2020 season, which was shortened mid-March due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Emilio Delgado from the Hartford Stage production of “Quixote Nuevo.”

The group of theater critics and writers annually salute outstanding work by artists among the state’s professional theaters. The annual ceremony, originally scheduled this year for June 29 at New Haven’s Long Wharf Theatre, was cancelled. An on-line ceremony is planned to be held later this summer.

“We wanted to recognize outstanding productions and performers during the abbreviated season,” says Stuart Brown, president of the CCC. “Instead of our usual process of putting together a slate of nominations for various categories and selecting winners, the organization decided to come up with a list of superior performances and artistic contributions.

Bowdie and Josie Todd from the Goodspeed Opera production of “Because of Winn Dixie.”

“The CCC wanted to differentiate this year’s awards — our 30th anniversary year — since approximately one-third of the season was cancelled and, therefore, not eligible for recognition.”

Receiving awards of excellence from the 2019-2020 season (in alphabetical order):

  • Juan Manuel Amador – Featured Actor, “Quixote Nuevo,” Hartford Stage.
  • Ezekiel Andrew – Actor, “Ragtime,” Music Theatre of CT.
  • Yana Birykova – Projections, “Mlima’s Tale,” Westport Country Playhouse.
  • Bowdie – the dog, “Because of Winn Dixie,” Goodspeed Opera House.
  • Ami Brabson – Actress, “American Son,” TheaterWorks Hartford.
  • Isabella Byrd – Lighting Design, “Mlima’s Tale,” Westport Country Playhouse and “Jane Eyre,” Hartford Stage.
  • Kevin Connors – Direction, “Ragtime,” Music Theatre of CT.
  • Emilio Delgado – Actor, “Quixote Nuevo,” Hartford Stage.
  • Rachel Healy – Costumes, “Quixote Nuevo,” Hartford Stage.
  • Dee Hoty – Featured Actress, “Cabaret,” CT Repertory Theatre.
  • Denis Jones – Choreography, “The Flamingo Kid,” Hartford Stage.
  • Mark Lamos – Direction, “Mlima’s Tale,” Westport Country Playhouse.
  • Lesli Margherita – Featured Actress, “The Flamingo Kid,” Hartford Stage.
  • Britton Mauk – Scenic Design, “I Am My Own Wife,” Long Wharf Theatre.
  • Ivory McKay – Featured Actor, “The Scottsboro Boys,” Playhouse on Park.
  • Tyler Nowakowski – Debut, “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,” CT Repertory Theatre.
  • Jason Peck – Sound Design, “Birds of North America,” Thrown Stone.
  • Jermaine Rowe – Actor, “Mlima’s Tale,” Westport Country Playhouse.
  • Helen Sadler – Actress, “Jane Eyre,” Hartford Stage.
  • KJ Sanchez – Direction, “Quixote Nuevo,” Hartford Stage.
  • Margot White – Featured Actress, “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time,” CT Repertory Theatre.
  • “Lifespan of a Fact,” – Ensemble, TheaterWorks.
  • “Mlima’s Tale,” Westport Country Playhouse.
  • “Quixote Nuevo,” Hartford Stage.
  • “Ragtime,” Music Theatre of CT.
Bookmark the permalink.