2012 CT Critics Circle Awards

Tom Killen Award Jacqueline Hubbard, artistic director, Ivoryton Playhouse Special Recognition Award I’m Connecticut – Connecticut Repertory Theatre Awards for Outstanding Productions Into the Woods – Westport Country Playhouse Show Boat – Goodspeed Musicals Water by the Spoonful – Hartford Stage Awards for Outstanding Direction Christopher Bayes (A Doctor in Spite of Himself) – Yale Repertory Theatre Sam Gold (The Realistic Joneses) – Yale Repertory Theatre Mark Lamos (Into the Woods) – Westport Country Playhouse Davis McCallum (Water by the Spoonful) – Hartford Stage Rob Ruggiero (Show Boat) – Goodspeed Musicals Awards for Outstanding Performances Stanley Bahorek (February House) –… read more

2011 CT Critics Circle Awards

(*denotes winner) Outstanding Production – Play The Diary of Anne Frank – Westport Country Playhouse Gem of the Ocean – Harford Stage *The Piano Lesson – Yale Repertory Theatre A Steady Rain – TheatreWorks The Train Driver – Long Wharf Theatre Outstanding Production – Musical Buddy: The Buddy Holly Story – Ivoryton Playhouse Everything the Traffic Will Allow – Music Theatre of Connecticut How to Succeed in Business without Really Trying – Goodspeed Musicals I Do! Do! – Westport Country Playhouse *My One and Only – Goodspeed Musical We Have Always Lived in the Castle – Yale Repertory Theatre Outstanding… read more

2010 CT Critics Circle Awards

(* denotes winner) Special Awards *The Orphans’ Home Cycle (Hartford Stage) Tom Killen Award *The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center, Waterford, CT Outstanding Production – Play *Eclipsed – Yale Rep Holiday – Elm Shakespeare The Miracle Worker – Ivoryton Playhouse No Child – Long Wharf Shakespeare’s R&J – TheaterWorks Outstanding Production – Musical *POP! – Yale Rep Annie Get Your Gun – Goodspeed Camelot – Goodspeed She Loves Me – Westport Country Playhouse Song Man, Dance Man – Seven Angels Outstanding Actress – Play *Nilaja Sun (No Child) – Long Wharf Charlotte Booker (The Lady With All the Answers) – TheaterWorks… read more

2009 CT Critics Circle Awards

(*denotes winner) SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD *Elizabeth Helitzer & Mark Parenti (Around the World in 80 Days) – Westport Country Playhouse OUTSTANDING PRODUCTION OF A PLAY Coming Home – Long Wharf Dead Man’s Cell Phone – TheaterWorks *Dividing the Estate – Hartford Stage No Child – TheaterWorks Of Mice and Men – Westport Country Playhouse OUTSTANDING PRODUCTION OF A MUSICAL *Big River – Goodspeed Musicals Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas – Goodspeed Musicals 42nd Street – Goodspeed Musicals The Music Man – New Canaan Summer Theater The Producers – Seven Angels OUTSTANDING ACTRESS IN A PLAY Hallie Foote (Dividing the Estate) –… read more

2008 CT Critics Circle Awards

*denotes winner Outstanding Production of a Play *Blackbird – TheaterWorks The Bluest Eye – Hartford Stage/Long Wharf The Milk Train Doesn’t Stop Here Anymore – Hartford Stage The Price – Long Wharf Theatre The Shape of Things – TheaterWorks Stamford Outstanding Production of a Musical (tie) *1776 – Goodspeed Happy Days – Goodspeed *Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat – Ivoryton Playhouse The Music Man – Bushnell Outstanding Actress in a Play Olympia Dukakis (The Milk Train Doesn’t Stop Here Anymore) – Hartford Stage *Patricia Kilgarriff (A Woman of No Importance) – Rosemary Prinz (Driving Miss Daisy) – Beth Wittig… read more

2007 CT Critics Circle Awards

(*denotes winner) *Outstanding Debut Award Vanessa Kai (Far East) – Stamford TheaterWorks Outstanding Costume Design Jacqueline Firkins (Man of La Mancha) – Long Wharf *Angela Weimdt (Singin’ in the Rain) – Goodspeed Musicals David C. Woolard (Summer and Smoke) – Hartford Stage Outstanding Sound Design Christopher A. Granger (Far East) – Stamford TheatreWorks *David Remedios (No Exit) – Hartford Stage Outstanding Set Design *Scott Bradley (Eurydice) – Yale Rep Scott Bradley (Fences) – Hartford Stage John Culbert (Man of La Mancha) – Long Wharf Alexander Dodge (Archbishop ‘s Ceiling) – Westport Country Playhouse Outstanding Lighting Design *Russell H. Champa (Eurydice)… read more

2006 CT Critics Circle Awards

(*denotes winner) Tom Killen Memorial Award *The Connecticut Commission on Culture and Tourism Outstanding Costume Design *Linda Fisher and Randall E. Klein (David Copperfield) – Westport Country Playhouse Jane Greenwood (The Front Page) – Long Wharf Tony Walton and Rachel Navarro (The Boy Friend) – Goodspeed Musicals Outstanding Sound Design David Stephen Baker (Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grille) – Long Wharf *Arielle Edwards (dance of the holy ghosts) – Yale Rep John Gromada (Journey’s End) – Westport Country Playhouse Lindsay Jones (Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune) – Hartford Stage Andrew Pluess and Ben Sussman (After… read more

2005 CT Critics Circle Awards

*denotes winner Special Award of Recognition *Joanne Woodward – Artistic Director, Westport Country Playhouse Tom Killen Award *Michael Wilson – Artistic Director, Hartford Stage Outstanding Costume Design *Linda Fisher (School for Husbands) – Westport Country Playhouse Emily Sosa (Crowns) – Hartford Stage Tony Walton & Martha Bromelmeir (Where ‘s Charley?) – Goodspeed Musicals Outstanding Sound Design Joe Boerst (Hair) – Downtown Cabaret *Hilary Chamas (Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow) – Yale Rep John Gromada (Cat on a Hot Tin Roof) – Hartford Stage Outstanding Set Design Patrick McCluskey (The Music Lesson) – Stamford TheatreWorks Russell Metheny (Seven Brides for Seven… read more

2004 CT Critics Circle Awards

*denotes winner The Connecticut Critics Circle Playwright Award *Donald Margulies Tom Killen Memorial Award *Bert Bernardi Outstanding Costume Design Camille Assaf (King Stag) – Yale Rep *Suzy Benzinger (Very Good Eddie) – Goodspeed Musicals Mara Blumenfield (Metamorphoses) – Hartford Stage Linda Cho (Hay Fever) – Westport Country Playhouse Outstanding Sound Design *Keith Townsend Obadike (The Mystery Plays) – Yale Rep Joe Pino (The Mystery of Irma Vep) – Hartford Stage Asa F. Wember (Route 66) – Seven Angels Asa F. Wember (Sweepers) – Seven Angels Outstanding Set Design *Adrian W. Jones (The Dazzle) – TheaterWorks, Hartford Patrick McCluskey (K2) –… read more

2003 CT Critics Circle Awards

(*denotes winner) Outstanding Costume Design *Christal Weatherly (Wintertime) – Long Wharf Theatre David Zinn (Medea/Macbeth/Cinderella) – Yale Repertory Theatre Catherine Zuber (Much Ado About Nothing) – Hartford Stage Outstanding Set Design *Jeff Cowie (The Night Of The Iguana) – Hartford Stage Jeff Cowie (The Trip to Bountiful) – Hartford Stage Annie Smart (Wintertime)- Long Wharf Theatre Outstanding Sound Design David Budries (Medea /Macbeth /Cinderella)- Yale Repertory Theatre *Christopher A. Granger (A Lesson Before Dying )- Stamford Theatre Works Matthew Spiro (Wintertime) – Long Wharf Theatre John Gromada (The Night of the Iguana) – Hartford Stage Outstanding Lighting Design Howell Binkley… read more