2017 CT Critics Circle Awards

*denotes winner

Special Awards
Paxton Whitehead
James Lescene

Tom Killen Award
Paulette Haupt

Outstanding Solo Performance
Jodi Stevens (I’ll Eat You Last) – MTC
*Jon Peterson (He Wrote Good Songs) – 7 Angels

Outstanding Debut
*Maya Keleher (Next to Normal) – TheaterWorks
Dylan Frederick (Assassins) – Yale Rep.
Nick Sacks (Next to Normal) – TheaterWorks

Outstanding Ensemble
Cast of Smart People – Long Wharf
Cast of Trav’lin (7 Angels)
*Cast of Meteor Shower (Long Wharf)
Cast of Assassins (Yale Rep.)
Cast of The 39 Steps (Ivoryton)

The Cast of Meteor Shower is: Patrick Breen, Sophina Brown, Arden Myrin, and Josh Stamberg

Outstanding Sound
*Jane Shaw (Comedy of Errors) – Hartford Stage
Fan Zhang (Seven Guitars) – Yale Rep.
Shane Rettig (Scenes From Court Life) – Yale Rep.
Karin Graybash (Piano Lesson) – Hartford Stage
Fitz Patton (The Invisible Hand) – Westport

Outstanding Costume Design
Ilona Somogyi (Heartbreak House) – Hartford Stage
Marina Draghici (Scenes from Court Life) – Yale Rep.
Lisa Steier (Rockin’ the Forest) – Playhouse on Park
*Fabio Toblini (Comedy of Errors) – Hartford Stage
Gregory Gale (Thoroughly Modern Millie) – Goodspeed

Outstanding Lighting
Matthew Richards (The Invisible Hand) – Westport
Yi Zhao (Assassins) – Yale Rep.
*John Lasiter (Next to Normal) – TheaterWorks
Matthew Richards (Comedy of Errors) – Hartford Stage
Christopher Bell (A Moon for the Misbegotten) – Playhouse on Park

Outstanding Set Design
Colin McGurk (Heartbreak House) – Hartford Stage
Michael Yeargan (Most Beautiful Room…) – Long Wharf
Wilson Chin (Next to Normal) – TheaterWorks
Adam Rigg (The Invisible Hand) – Westport
*Darko Tresnjak (The Comedy of Errors) – Hartford Stage

Outstanding Choreography
Denis Jones (Thoroughly Modern Millie) – Goodspeed
Chris Bailey (Chasing Rainbows) – Goodspeed
*Doug Shankman (West Side Story) – STONC
Patricia Wilcox (Bye Bye Birdie) – Goodspeed
Darlene Zoller (Rockin’ the Forest) – Playhouse on Park

Outstanding Featured Actor – Musical
Mark Nelson (Most Beautiful Room….) – Long Wharf
Edward Watts (Thoroughly Modern Millie) – Goodspeed
John Cardoza (Next to Normal) – TheaterWorks
Jonny Wexler (West Side Story) – STONC
*Rhett Guter (Bye Bye Birdie) – Goodspeed
Michael Wartella (Chasing Rainbows) – Goodspeed

Outstanding Featured Actress – Musical
Maya Keleher (Next to Normal) – TheaterWorks
Jodi Stevens (Gypsy) – MTC
Katie Stewart (West Side Story) – STONC
Kristine Zbornik (Bye, Bye Birdie) – Goodspeed
*Kate Simone (Gypsy) – MTC

Outstanding Featured Actress – Play
Miriam Silverman (Mary Jane) – Yale Rep.
Rachel Leslie (Seven Guitars) – Yale Rep.
Antoinette Crowe-Legacy (Guitars) – Yale Rep.
*Mia Dillon (Cloud 9) – Hartford Stage
Christina Pumariego (Napoli, Brooklyn) – Long Wharf

Outstanding Featured Actor – Play
Jameal Ali (The Invisible Hand) – Westport
Andre De Shields (Seven Guitars) – Yale Rep.
*Cleavant Derricks (Piano Lesson) – Hartford Stage
Steve Routman (Other People’s Money) – Long Wharf
Paxton Whitehead (What the Butler Saw) – Westport

Outstanding Director – Musical
*Rob Ruggiero (Next to Normal) – TheaterWorks
David Edwards (Man of La Mancha) – Ivoryton
Melody Meitrott Libonati (West Side Story) – STONC
Jenn Thompson (Bye Bye Birdie) – Goodspeed
Kevin Connors (Gypsy) – MTC

Outstanding Director – Play
Darko Tresnjak (The Comedy of Errors) – Hartford Stage
*David Kennedy (The Invisible Hand) – Westport
Marc Bruni (Other People’s Money) – Long Wharf
Tracy Brigden (Midsummer) – TheaterWorks
Gordon Edelstein (Meteor Shower) – Long Wharf

Outstanding Actor – Musical
Robert Sean Leonard (Camelot) – Westpor
Riley Costello (How to Succeed…) – CRT
David Harris (Next to Normal) – TheaterWorks
David Pittsinger (Man of La Mancha) – Ivoryton
*Zach Schanne (West Side Story) – STONC

Outstanding Actress – Musical
Ruby Rakos (Chasing Rainbows) – Goodspeed
*Christiane Noll (Next to Normal) – TheaterWorks
Julia Paladino (West Side Story) – STONC
Karen Ziemba (Gypsy) – Sharon Playhouse
Talia Thiesfield (Man of La Mancha) – Ivoryton

Outstanding Actor – Play
Tom Pecinka (Cloud 9) – Hartford Stage
Michael Doherty (Peter and the Starcatcher) – CRT
*Eric Bryant (The Invisible Hand) – Westport
Jordan Lage (Other People’s Money) – Long Wharf
Scott McLean (Midsummer) – TheaterWorks

Outstanding Actress – Play
Emily Donahoe (Mary Jane) – Yale Rep.
Semina DeLaurentis (George & Gracie) – 7 Angels
Ashlie Atkinson (Imogen Says Nothing) – Yale Rep.
*Vanessa R. Butler (Queens for a Year) – Hartford Stage
Rebecca Hart (Midsummer) – TheaterWorks

Outstanding Production – Musical
Assassins – Yale Rep.
*Next to Normal – TheaterWorks
Man of La Mancha – Ivoryton
West Side Story – STONC
Bye Bye Birdie – Goodspeed

Outstanding Production – Play
The Comedy of Errors – Hartford Stage
Midsummer – TheaterWorks
Scenes From Court Life – Yale Rep.
*The Invisible Hand – Westport
Mary Jane – Yale Rep.

Bookmark the permalink.