Tom Killen Memorial Award

The Tom Killen Award is the highest honor the Connecticut Critics Circle bestows. It is for a lifetime of dedication to the theater and to theater in Connecticut. It is named after Tom Killen, a talented young critic who died at the age of 33 in August 1989 and who helped found the Connecticut Critics Circle.

Michael Yeargan Named 2019 Tom Killen Award Recipient
Michael Yeargan, two-time Tony Award-winning set designer and co-chair of the design program at Yale School of Drama, will be the 2019 recipient of the Connecticut Critics Circle’s annual Tom Killen Award, recognizing his long service and achievement to theater in the state, New York and internationally.

Paulette Haupt Named Winner of 2017 Tom Killen Award
Since 1978, Haupt has served as artistic director of the National Music Theater Conference at the Eugene O’Neill Theater Center. In that capacity, she has selected and guided the development of more than 120 new musicals including Nine, Avenue Q, Violet, The Wild Party, In The Heights, and Darling Grenadine, which will be performed at Goodspeed Musicals’ Norma Terris Theatre in Chester later this summer.

Michael O’Flaherty Named Recipient of 2018 Tom Killen Award
Michael O’Flaherty has been the man behind the music — and baton, too. Entering his 27th season as Goodspeed’s resident music director, O’Flaherty has guided more than 100 shows at the East Haddam and Chester theaters, several of them (“By Jeeves,” “Gentleman Prefer Blondes”) to Broadway. He’s also a key figure behind the Festival of New Musicals, as well as the composer for a new locally-rooted show: “A Connecticut Christmas Carol.”

2019 Michael Yeargan
2018 Michael O’Flaherty
2017 Paulette Haupt
2016 Anne Keefe
2015 Carmen de Lavallade
2014 Athol Fugard
2013 Aetna New Voices at Hartford Stage
2012 Jacqueline Hubbard
2011 Music Theatre of Connecticut
2010 The O’Neill Center
2009 Rob Ruggiero
2008 Gordon Edelstein
2007 James Bundy
2006 Ct. Commission on Arts & Tourism
2005 Michael Wilson
2004 Bert Bernardi
2003 Gov. John Rowland
2002 Steve Campo
2001 George C. White
2000 Cory and Bob Donnalley
1999 Semina DeLaurentis
1998 Michael Price
1997 Steve Karp
1996 Mark Lamos
1995 Lucille Lortel
1994 Susan and Richard Hallinan
1993 James B. McKenzie
1992 Arvin Brown
1991 Lloyd Richards

Comments are closed.